Published: Tue, October 16, 2018
Hi-Tech | By Preston Stone

Sony's PS4 hit by soft-bricking message bug

Sony's PS4 hit by soft-bricking message bug

While there is no fix available at the moment, there are steps you can take to prevent the issue affecting you.

Once you've successfully deleted the message, you need to reboot your PlayStation 4 in safe mode.

Users said that when they received the message, the bug caused the PlayStation 4 console to crash and permanently freeze.

"Rainbow Six: Siege" and "Destiny 2" players encountered this issue when their opponents sent these messages during competitive multiplayer matches, forcing them to lose their games, as well as their consoles.

Some people are reporting the only way to fix the issue is to do a factory reset, but that's a rather extreme measure (it will delete everything on the hard drive).

Saudis reject threats as stocks plunge after Trump comments
The journalist was last seen there on October 2. "The rest is history: He never walked out of that building". Mr Khashoggi has not been seen or heard from since he entered the Saudi consulate in Istanbul on 2 October.

Sony released the following statement in response to the bug: "We are aware of the situation and are planning a system software update to resolve this problem". You can check messages from Sony PS4's messaging app that can be downloaded from Google Play Store and Apple App Store. Some users have said that the attack rendered their console bricked leaving them no option but factory-reset the device. Others tried this technique to no avail, but did have some luck after deleting the message. Then, choose "Initialise PS4" option int he safe mode. Here are official instructions via Sony: "Once the PS4 system is off, press and hold the power button again". So enabling communication from friends only should keep you safe, unless one of your pals decides to pull a fast one on you.

Whether you got it from one of your mates, your uncle, or someone's Tweet, it was a pretty amusing, yet worrying, trend that slowly died off - although, the console edition seems much, much worse.

Go to Settings Account Management Privacy Settings Enter your password Personal Info ' Messaging, and set Messages to either Friends (if you trust them) or No One.

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Like this: