Published: Mon, April 02, 2018
Global | By Enrique Rogers

No British referees picked to officiate at World Cup in Russian Federation

No British referees picked to officiate at World Cup in Russian Federation

The 35-year-old Siwela forms part of a partnership with central referee Janny Sikazwe of Zambia and first assistant Jerson dos Santos from Angola.

Would you like to place a soccer bet?

This is the first time after the Second World War that a World Cup would be staged without an English ref.

World football ruling body FIFA said in a statement that its Referees Commission has also picked 63 assistant referees, with the 99 match officials representing 46 countries.

In total, Africa will have six of the 36 centre referees and 10 of the 63 assistant referees at Russian Federation 2018.

Thirty six referees and 63 assistant referees, from 46 different countries, have been selected for the FIFA World Cup in Russian Federation starting June 14.

Easter Monday snow warning for most of Scotland
Snow is expected to fall to lower levels across Scotland, except on the coasts generally 1 or 2cm, up to 8cm over the Cairngorms. The mercury could plunge to -10C in parts of the United Kingdom overnight as daytime highs remain in the single figures.

They were selected from 53 referee trios in a three-year process through preparatory seminars and "based on each referee's skills and personality".

England whistler Mark Clattenburg, who retired from Premier League duty last summer, had been included on a pre-selected group drawn up by world ruling body Federation Internationale de Football Association two years ago.

The 16 African officials make up a total of 99 referees representing 46 different countries selected by Federation Internationale de Football Association.

England's Howard Webb was Britain's sole representative at the last two World Cups in 2010 and 2014.

UEFA: Felix Brych (Germany), Sergey Karasev (Russia), Cuneyt Cakir (Turkey), Bjorn Kuipers (Netherlands), Szymon Marciniak (Poland), Antonio Miguel Mateu Laos (Spain), Milorad Magic (Serbia), Gianluca Rocchi (Italy), Damir Skomina (Slovenia) and Clement Stavrev (France).

Like this: